1- is eating foods containing "calf rennet" from islamic countries like (Yemen and Egypt,Turkey and Saudi Arabia) halaal keeping in mind that thoses countries use both local meat and meat imported from brasil

· 10 Safar 1427 AH1 min readFatwa 14014English

Question

keeping in mind that I'm following the Maliki madhab, I'd like to know the following things:

1- is eating foods containing "calf rennet" from islamic countries like (Yemen and Egypt,Turkey and Saudi Arabia) halaal keeping in mind that thoses countries use both local meat and meat imported from brasil ...?

2- earlier I have decided to give some money to my parents, but due to the fact that I cannot transfer it from the country where I work to my parents account i didn't do it yet, but the time to give my zakat came.

so shall i pay zakaat for this money also even if I decided to give it to my parents?

3- is salaat behind person following Zaidi madhab (in Yemen) correct?

4- my wife has a gold jewelery which costs around 1500US $, but she is not using it as she has bad souvenirs of it (ex-husband), and she

is willing to change it by another pieces, does she have to give zakat for this jewelry?

Answer

1. You should abstain from consuming such foodstuff. If not Haraam, then these products are at least doubtful. Hence, you should keep away from them.

2. Yes, since it is still in your possession, Zakaat is compulsory on it.

3. If you mean the Zaaidiyah sect of the Shi’as, then your Salaat behind such an Imaam is incorrect.

4. Yes, Zakaat is still compulsory on such jewellery.

and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best

Mufti Muhammad Kadwa

FATWA DEPT.

CHECKED & APPROVED: Mufti Ebrahim Desai (Fatwa Dept.)

Answered by
Mufti Muhammad Kadwa
Questions about this ruling, answered only from the archive with sources.

Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue

For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.

People also ask

Is cheese with rennet halaal?

“Rennet is an ingredient that is used to produce cheese. The sharee ruling regarding rennet is as follows: 1. If the rennet is produced from non-animal sources (i.e. microbial rennet extracted from plants, etc.), then it is…”

Mufti Online · 32 fatawa from 4 Darul Iftas on this

What the Darul Iftas say