Is it permissible consume gelatine capsules?

· 6 Dhuʻl-Qiʻdah 1434 AH1 min readFatwa 26867English

Question

I would just like to know the ruling regarding the use of gelatin capsules. I am currently interested in purchasing a supplement, that consumes of gelatin capsules. However gelatin is haram. My question is would it be permissible to pour out the contents from inside of the gelatin capsules and then consume it , and then discard of the gelatin capsules ?

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

It is not permissible to use gelatine capsules as a supplement. While one may empty the medicine in the capsule and use it directly, it is also important to consider whether the contents of the medicine are halal or not.

Furthermore, it is advisable to seek the consent of your doctor before consuming the medicine directly which was taken out of the capsule.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Ismail Dawoodjee

Student Darul Iftaa
Zambia

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

www.daruliftaa.net

Answered by
Ismail Dawoodjee
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Questions about this ruling, answered only from the archive with sources.

Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue

For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.

People also ask

Is gelatine halaal?

“You should enquire regarding the source of the beef gelatin. If the beef gelatin is from bone, it is halal. If the beef gelatin is from hide and the animal is slaughtered according to the Shariah Laws of Zabah, then it is halal.”

Ask Imaam · 62 fatawa from 4 Darul Iftas on this

What the Darul Iftas say