In many products available we some E-numbers in the ingredients list. In front of each E-number we find their true meaning except for E-471.

· 27 Jumada I 1421 AH1 min readFatwa 281English

Question

None of the food products mention what this E-number (E-471) contains.

Answer

The emulsifiers used by the European countries bearing the E numbers are different to the products manufactured in South Africa. The E numbers appearing on the local products have no definite definition i.e. one company defines E 471 to contain a plant base whilst another company defines E 471 to contain animal base. These are approximately 700+- emulsifiers on the market of which half are animal based and half are plant based.

However, the overseas products with E numbers correspond to the products manufactured in European countries.

Mufti Ebrahim Desai

Answered by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Questions about this ruling, answered only from the archive with sources.

Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue

For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.

People also ask

Are E-numbers and food additives halaal?

“It is essential that you clarify the source of the emulsifier. If the emulsifier contains ingredients derived from a halal animal that is slaughtered according to the laws of Shariah, then such emulsifiers are permissible to…”

Ask Imaam · 25 fatawa from 3 Darul Iftas on this

What the Darul Iftas say