Suitable for vegetarian does not necessarily mean halaal

· 11 Rabiʻ II 1440 AH1 min readFatwa 30992English

Question

Asalamualaykum,

I want to ask a question regarding food ingredients.

As many of the items I buy from the supermarkets have e-numbers in the ingredients, such as croissants, crisps ( like wotsists, walkers), chocolates, fizzy drinks ( pepsi, rubicon), sweets etc..

Is it necessary to check every single e-number or ingredient on the list of ingredients, or is it permissble to buy the item if the ' suitable for vegetarian' sign is on the item packet or drink.

I would appreciate your answer on this matter.

Wsalaam.

Answer

In the Name of Allaah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salaamu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullaahi wa-barakaatuh.

Brother in Islaam,

It is of utmost importance that one ensures his food is halaal. One jeopardizes the acceptance of his prayers by eating something doubtful or haraam.

Nevertheless, something that is suitable for vegetarians is not necessarily halaal. There are many ingredients that are haraam but suitable for vegetarians. Accordingly, you should check every ingredient in a food item prior to consuming it.

And Allaah Ta’aala Knows Best.

Muajul I. Chowdhury

Student, Darul Iftaa

Astoria, New York, USA

Checked and Approved by,

Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

(2018-12-18)

Answered by
Muajul I. Chowdhury
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Questions about this ruling, answered only from the archive with sources.

Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue

For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.