Are vanilla extract... Also you said about the only alcohol that is haram is derived from dates and grapes. What about beer it contains alcohol derived from barley?

· 15 Shaʻban 1423 AH1 min readFatwa 6955English

Question

Also you said about the only alcohol that is haram is derived from dates and grapes. What about beer it contains alcohol derived from barley?

Answer

Any drink derived from Barley is permissible if it does not intoxicate and does not have a direct potential to intoxicate.

and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best

Mufti Ebrahim Desai

Answered by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Questions about this ruling, answered only from the archive with sources.

Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue

For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.

People also ask

Is food containing alcohol halaal?

“Modern-day perfumes which are alcohol-based are made from synthetic alcohol, and not alcohol which is derived from dates and grapes. Therefore, perfumes containing synthetic alcohol are permissible for external use. As such, it…”

Ibn Masood · 46 fatawa from 4 Darul Iftas on this

What the Darul Iftas say