Carotene in cheese from Holland
Question
There is a kind of cheese coming from Holland (covered with something red or orange color) containing the ingredient "carotene". Is it halal?
Answer
You may refer to a reliable halaal certifying body in whom you have confidance. They will be in a better position to assist you.
- Answered by
- Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)
Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.
Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Mufti Online — Madrasah Ta'leemuddeen. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue
For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.
Source: Mufti Online — Madrasah Ta'leemuddeen — https://muftionline.co.za/node/1580
Fatawa SA: https://fatawa.co.za/fatwa/muftionline-1580
People also ask
Is cheese with rennet halaal?
“Rennet is an ingredient that is used to produce cheese. The sharee ruling regarding rennet is as follows: 1. If the rennet is produced from non-animal sources (i.e. microbial rennet extracted from plants, etc.), then it is…”
Mufti Online · 32 fatawa from 4 Darul Iftas on this
What the Darul Iftas say