Taking gelatine for medicinal purposes

· 8 Muharram 1439 AH1 min readEnglish

Question

I have severe knee pain and joints problem so I need to use gelatine for cure but there is no gelatine which is halaal. There is a gelatine which says kosher. Please guide whether I can consume this as a medicine or not? Then there is agar agar gelatine which comes from sea weeds but it does not help with joint repair. Please help me with this matter. Otherwise I'll have to go for cartilage repair surgery.

Answer

Try your best to look for a halal substitute.

And Allah Ta'ala (الله تعالى) knows best.

Answered by
Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)
Questions about this ruling, answered only from the archive with sources.

Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Mufti Online — Madrasah Ta'leemuddeen. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue

For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.

People also ask

Are vaccines and medicines with haraam ingredients permissible?

“He is a perfectly sane adult that is of understanding but squanders his wealth in purchasing drugs. According to Imaam Abu Hanifa Rahimahullah, it is not correct to withhold his personal funds, as in snatching away his funds…”

Ibn Masood · 198 fatawa from 7 Darul Iftas on this

What the Darul Iftas say
Is gelatine halaal?

“You should enquire regarding the source of the beef gelatin. If the beef gelatin is from bone, it is halal. If the beef gelatin is from hide and the animal is slaughtered according to the Shariah Laws of Zabah, then it is halal.”

Ask Imaam · 62 fatawa from 4 Darul Iftas on this

What the Darul Iftas say