Consuming vitamins with gelatine
Question
Is it ja'iz to consume Vitamin D3 supplements that are made in Saudi Arabia and contain gelatin? (I couldn't find the source of gelatin.)
Answer
If the gelatine is made from animals that were not slaughtered according to the Shar'ee method of slaughter, then one should refrain from consuming it. One should look for a halaal alternative.
And Allah Ta'ala (الله تعالى) knows best.
- Answered by
- Mufti Zakaria Makada
- Checked & approved by
- Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)
Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.
Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Mufti Online — Madrasah Ta'leemuddeen. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue
For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.
Source: Mufti Online — Madrasah Ta'leemuddeen — https://muftionline.co.za/node/23391
Fatawa SA: https://fatawa.co.za/fatwa/muftionline-23391
People also ask
Is gelatine halaal?
“You should enquire regarding the source of the beef gelatin. If the beef gelatin is from bone, it is halal. If the beef gelatin is from hide and the animal is slaughtered according to the Shariah Laws of Zabah, then it is halal.”
Ask Imaam · 62 fatawa from 4 Darul Iftas on this
What the Darul Iftas say