Is balsamic wine vinegar Halal?

· 2 Rabiʻ I 1447 AH1 min readFatwa 33124English

Question

Is balsamic wine vinegar Halal?

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh

It is permissible to consume balsamic vinegar as long as the effects of alcohol are not present. The Fuqahaa have stated that it is halaal to consume the vinegar made from wine.[1]

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Ismail Desai,

Darul Iftaa

Checked and Approved,

Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

2015-05-27

References (Arabic / Urdu sources)

1( وإذا تخللت الخمر حلت سواء صارت خلا بنفسها أو بشيء يطرح فيها ، ولا يكره تخليلها ) وقال الشافعي : يكره التخليل ولا يحل الخل الحاصل به إن كان التخليل بإلقاء شيء فيه قولا واحدا ، وإن كان بغير إلقاء شيء فيه فله في الخل الحاصل به قولان له أن في التخليل اقترابا من الخمر على وجه التمول ، والأمر بالاجتناب ينافيه ولنا قوله صلى الله عليه وسلم { نعم الإدام الخل } من غير فصل ، وقوله عليه الصلاة والسلام { خير خلكم خل خمركم } ولأن بالتخليل يزول الوصف المفسد وتثبت صفة الصلاح من حيث تسكين الصفراء وكسر الشهوة ، والتغذي به والإصلاح مباح ، وكذا الصالح للمصالح اعتبارا بالمتخلل بنفسه وبالدباغ والاقتراب لإعدام الفساد فأشبه الإراقة ، والتخليل أولى لما فيه من إحراز مال يصير حلالا في الثاني فيختاره من ابتلي به (فتح القدير، ص 39، ج 9، رشيدية)

( وخل الخمر سواء خللت أو تخللت ) يعني خل الخمر فلا فرق في ذلك بين أن يتخلل بنفسه أو تخلل بإلقاء شيء فيه كالملح أو الخل أو النقل من الظل إلى الشمس أو بإيقاد النار بالقرب منها خلافا للشافعي إذا تخللت بإلقاء شيء فيها كالملح ولنا قوله : عليه الصلاة والسلام { نعم الإدام الخل } مطلقا فيتناول جميع صورها ولأن بالتخليل إزالة الوصف المفسد وثبات صفة الصلاح كالذبائح فالتخليل أولى لما فيه من إحراز مال يصير حلالا ( البحر، ص 212، ج 8، رشيدية)

فتاوي محموديه، ص 179، ج 18)

Answered by
Ismail Desai
Questions about this ruling, answered only from the archive with sources.

Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue

For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.

People also ask

Is vinegar halaal?

“It is permissible to consume balsamic vinegar as long as the effects of alcohol are not present. The Fuqahaa have stated that it is halaal to consume the vinegar made from wine.”

Ask Imaam · 32 fatawa from 4 Darul Iftas on this

What the Darul Iftas say