Eating vinegar
Question
There are many different types of vinegar, example, red wine vinegar, spirit vinegar, etc. I don't know how they're made. Can we eat them?
Answer
Vinegar in itself is permissible.
And Allah Ta'ala (الله تعالى) knows best.
- Answered by
- Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)
Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.
Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Mufti Online — Madrasah Ta'leemuddeen. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue
For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.
Source: Mufti Online — Madrasah Ta'leemuddeen — https://muftionline.co.za/node/33121
Fatawa SA: https://fatawa.co.za/fatwa/muftionline-33121
People also ask
Is vinegar halaal?
“It is permissible to consume balsamic vinegar as long as the effects of alcohol are not present. The Fuqahaa have stated that it is halaal to consume the vinegar made from wine.”
Ask Imaam · 32 fatawa from 4 Darul Iftas on this
What the Darul Iftas say