Unknowingly Consuming Haraam

· 3 Dhuʻl-Qiʻdah 1447 AH1 min readEnglish

Question

I drank some supplements thoughtlessly and then realized they were capsules. After checking the ingredients, it appears the capsules were most likely made from Haraam gelatine. I have made Istighfaar and I hope that Allah Ta’ala will forgive me. Will my Ibaadah be accepted or not?

Answer

If you are certain that the capsules were made of such gelatine where the animal was not slaughtered in a Halaal manner, then you have consumed Haraam. You are simply required to make sincere Taubah for consuming a Haraam product unknowingly. By doing so, we hope that you will be forgiven for your error which was unintentional Insha’Allah. However, you should be more conscious with regard to the ingredients of all products in the future.

Answered by
Mufti Abdul Kader Fazlani
Checked & approved by
Mufti Yacoob Vally Saheb
Questions about this ruling, answered only from the archive with sources.

Where scholars differ, it’s safer to take the more cautious view.

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Ifta Ibn Masood. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, please ask a Mufti. Report an issue

For corrections or mistakes, please email us at fatawasa786@gmail.com.